As of lately I have been met with the overwhelming desire to have a little baby in the house and as much as I want little Joey is not down with being called a baby. Yesterday I asked him… “Will you always be my baby?”

He looked at me like I was crazy and in a voice that screamed “Mom you idiot” he said, “I already passed a baby, MOM!”

It’s quite funny actually to listen to him talk because he just has such reasoning… but sometimes he does not get it. My next question to him was “Will you always be my baby in my heart?”

Again, he said “No! Mom I already passed by being a baby!”

Its humorous, over and over we have had to make decisions as parents with the hope we are making the right ones. How in our lifetime are we going to teach our two little snots how to be wise, caring, smart, independent (the list goes on) adults. The answer is, everything we have done and will do in the future will all depend on them.

But as a mom, I can promise you this…

I will kiss and hug them both everyday…
Ask them at the dinner table “what’s the best thing that happened to you today?”
Tell them both that I love them…
Continue to hold them when they cry…
Bite my tongue when they drive me nuts…
Try to teach them both how to be patience…

All very basic things, but something that I learned recently as an adult… It takes a moment to do something that shows you care.

I will take my lesson I learned and say… this is going to make me a better person.

Jody’s big day…


As Jody’s birthday approaches we wait for the ball to drop. That sounds bad huh? But I honestly and truly believe that we have been met by such sadness in the past year that we are finally ready to walk forward and be positive. We continue to talk about what we should do to celebrate his birthday, I mean, a normal birthday is what we really wish we were planning. But more importantly we are going to celebrate his short life. Details will follow sometime… we are debating!!!

On his birthday we have decided to plant a tree in our yard in his memory, a beautiful jacaranda tree. Oh they are such beautiful trees… I have included a picture for you to see. While they are messy (yes I know) they have the most gorgeous trumpet-shaped flowers that appear before the leaves return, then drop to form a blue carpet underneath the tree.

I cannot think of a better tree to plant… though messy I’m anxious to see the blue carpet the flowers leave behind.

