Photo taken by Jennifer Terian

 

 

I must have started about 10 posts recently and either not finished them or saved them in the abyss of my computer. Problem is those saved posts are no where to be found. So I find myself starting over in frustration. But honestly its been a struggle. At the New Year we received the update on our blog traffic. I was so surprised when I looked at the statistics of our little family blog. Honestly, I was a little bit horrified too! I could not believe the number of followers and the information.

I knew in starting the blog that I wanted to reach people, but really how many did I expect really it was just a few. The stats have made me a little self conscious (okay a lot) and a little apprehensive about posting so much…

That leads me to my second topic…

Joe…

My seriously amazing, outstanding, super fantastic husband. I went back to read the posts, I do often when I am having a Jody day or something and I realized that I leave Joe out of the blog quite routinely. This is not because he’s not involved, but more importantly as a courtesy to him. I chose to start writing shortly after we learned of Jody’s condition. Joe was so very supportive, and I think maybe the blog turned into something a little more through the pregnancy with Julianna. Joe is most defiantly a more private person when it comes to thing streaming across the web, so I tried hard to consider his feelings! So after discussions with him, I can now include him in more stories. I mean he is WAY funnier then I am! I would post a picture of Captain Funny Pants, but he is currently suffering from camera shyness! Look for one later!!!

 

Joe and Julaianna w/ her Christmas slippers from Joey!

 

 

February…

The month of February this year has been pretty different, our family ha

s battled all sorts of sickness ranging from bronchitis, shingles all the way to pink eye. I say over and over I am a little sick of the sicks, but honestly all the Dr appointments provided us with quite the distraction. The night of February 3rd I laid awake in bed thinking of what the next day meant to me. The 4th marked 2 years to the day we learned of Jody’s condition. On the 4th everyone was sick it was the Friday before my returning to work, and again for the 2nd year it was a BEAUTIFUL day… I am too afraid to voice that on the 4th because just a moment before learning Jody’s condition Joe was talking about how beautiful the day was. The anniversary was not too bad of a day, there were a few tears shed remembering. But honestly it was more of a day to reflect on how far we have come since then. As a family, couple, parents and siblings we have made it so far and I have said it before but Jody bonded us far more then we were before.

 

Our little snots…

Boy have they been bringing us some smiles, some scares and just some darn good times! They get us going each day! At the end of the day you can lay in bed and just laugh at their antics. The funnies thing is they don’t realize the amount of happiness they bring us.

With my return to work and everybody being sick things have been a little difficult. A month before we talked to a dear friend about keeping Little Miss for us. We prayed for a while knowing that what was meant to be would happen. And sure enough she agreed to keep Julianna for us, I could never explain the relief this provided me. My anxiety levels were already extremely high about leaving her, and then don’t get me started on daycare… I was a nervous wreck! But all is well and Ms. S is taking care of Little Miss so wonderfully! I again continue to believe that in life we are blessed with the people we are surrounded by! Here are a couple of pictures from the past month; you can take a peek at our most precious ones!

 

Joey with his pot while he was sick...

 

 

Ms. S found that she loves this bunny. She chewed on it all night!

 

March…

March 1st marks the first day of National Kidney Month! We would have never made a note of this before, but as we know kidneys are VERY important. I stole this from the PKD Foundation so take a peek… Click the Join us and it will link to their website. They have lots of things coming up!

Join Us in Celebrating National Kidney Month!
Today marks the beginning of National Kidney Month – a time to raise awareness of kidney diseases like PKD … and a special opportunity to provide you with even more information on PKD research, education, advocacy, support and awareness!

Speaking of PKD Foundation…

Last year was a little different for us; we did not participate in the Phoenix Chapter walk… I think the kids could not grasp the fact that I was 9 months pregnant and it was not happening!!! Jennifer took not doing the walk the hardest, she enjoyed doing it so much. On the day of the walk she came down and asked, “You know what today is?” My response “yes, Jennifer I am sorry.”

So we will walk this year and as usual will invite all of our friends and family to walk with us.  Email us if you will be walking at jodyangelwings@aol.com

 

Save the Date!

2011 Phoenix Walk for PKD

Sunday, October 16, 2011

Market Street @ DC Ranch Scottsdale, AZ

Jody’s 2nd Birthday…

We have yet to decide how we will celebrated Jody’s special day, last year we planted his tree (still praying it bounces back) and placed his angel charm in the Angel Garden at St. Andrews. We have a month to decide, but it could be planting a new tree and something a little different! We will keep you posted…

Today is the 10th and a day that marks 23 months, it was a more difficult day for me. Tears have been shed and I am just a tad bit broken hearted. Before getting pregnant on every “Jody Day” I wore my I have my very own angel shirt. This was going to be my first month wearing it since Little Miss was born. I woke this morning, getting dressed in the dark and missed putting my shirt on. Sadly I internalized this as I forgot him. This silly rationalization as I sat at my desk brought tears to my eyes. Again as I drove home explaining to Joe “I forgot” Next month I will post a picture, tonight I will remind myself that a shirt does not mean he is forgotten. More important… my heartache is that he is remembered.

