I have started many blogs lately (I always say this) one’s that will be left unfinished. But today (Saturday) I was left thinking about things. While folding laundry I realized that it’s a special year. One that I look back in amazement, wondering how I got here.

I have always said that I will not be defined by the loss of Jody. Honestly, thinking about it, he has defined me. Maybe it is not the best word to use, but I realized that I now know the importance of motherhood, growth and change. It’s amazing that through him we have gained so much.

I was given a gift 6 months and one day ago her name is Julianna. On her ½ birthday she rolled over, this morning she woke me up at 6 am. And as I sat and stared in awe (a little sad she woke so early) it dawned on me that I get to celebrate Mother’s Day differently.

Mother’s day is not just for others to celebrate their mother. But it’s a day for me to reflect on being a mom to three amazing kids that walk and one beautiful blessing that soars.

Peace to all of the mothers out there. May your day be filled with love and reflection.

