Ah, anyone who knows me, knows I am PASSIONATE about food! I have lots of favorites, unlike my lovely bride.  I believe that is why she asked me to jump in for this one.   Here is a funny story that is completely related.  Last month Carla’s sister was getting married.  We drove to Folsom, CA before the wedding.  Carla had dinner plans with her sister and her friends.  I took the kids to a grocery store called Bel-Air.  How fitting, after all we were in California.  I was asking the bagging guy where I could find a good cheeseburger.  He gave the staple reply, “Ah there is McDonald’s, Wendy’s, etc. etc.”  I told him that I was looking for something different.   He said “Have you ever heard of Smashburger?”  I hadn’t, so he gave me directions.

We arrived, went in and began to place our order.  I ordered the kids meals first and went on to order mine.  So I’m telling the guy, “OK, a light amount of mustard because I really don’t want it swimming in it, and I’ll also take a large drink”.  He goes on to say, “OK light amount of mustard and I didn’t hear the last thing you said”.  I looked at him straight in the eye’s and said “I love you and I miss you”.  He looked at me like I was crazy and then we both broke out in a huge laugh.  I was laughing so hard the manager who was walking by began to laugh.  We finally stopped laughing and the manager returned.  I told the employee that even his manager was laughing.  The manager “Mike” said he didn’t even hear what I had said, he merely was laughing because we were laughing so hard.  I mean really think about this visual, I’m at this fast food restaurant with my three kids, one who is in a stroller and I just told the cash register kid that I loved him and missed him.  Needless to say, I didn’t even know him.

So the food is prepared, we had it to go.  We got back to our hotel room and I practically inhaled the burger.  Holy Cow it was the best cheeseburger I’ve ever had. We were there in Folsom for two more days and guess what?  We had lunch there the next two days! Come to find out there are five locations right here in town.  Yesterday for Fathers Day, my lovely bride took me and the kids to, guess where?

Chicken Parmesan is something that can be good or it can be something that can be GREAT!  Good Chicken Parmesan is nice!  Great Chicken Parmesan is just shy of earth shaking! Salerno’s in Gilbert, AZ plates one of the best Chicken Parmesan this side of the Mississippi.   Don’t get me wrong, growing up in Buffalo, NY you are going to find food in that city that would blow your socks CLEAN OFF!  Seriously, I don’t think the people in Buffalo know how good they have got it.  Anyhow, back to Salerno’s.  I highly, highly recommend that you give it a try.  I can almost guarantee you’ll thank me. I seriously wish I had a picture of their chicken (Chicka-Chicka Parm Parm) but… I do not take pictures of all my food so sadly… You will be left wondering!

Answer: Someburros! Question: Where can you find one of the best Mexican dishes? I love this place! Carla had some work travel about a month or so ago.  While she was gone I decided that maybe we needed a little Someburro action.  Loaded the kids up, got there as fast as we could,  place my order for a Borracho Burro and waited. Shortly thereafter it was delivered right to our table.  O’Yea, the kids got food too! Bean burrito or what ever they ordered.  Now back to the Borracho Burro.  I mentioned a little earlier that Carla really doesn’t have favorites when it comes to food.  I should have mentioned that she does when it comes to this dish.  So I thought she would really appreciate it if I took a picture of my lunch and sent it to her phone. My thoughts were she would just say “Oh Thank you Honey for thinking of me while you are going to be eating one of my favorite meals without me!”  I can honestly tell you that I did enjoy my lunch very much, but truly it wasn’t as good as if Carla would have been with me.  This is what it looks like on the menu.  Again, this one come HIGHLY RECOMMENDED!

BORRACHO BURRO………………………………………………………………………..6.65

Soft flour tortilla filled with green chili beef, covered with green sauce and melted cheese, topped with sour cream and guacamole.

As I mentioned I grew up in Buffalo, NY.  Over the years when ever I have gone back I have always traveled there with a very large, very empty cooler.  Upon my return the cooler usually weighed over 50lbs. filled with Buffalo food.  Pizza, Subs, hotdogs from Sahlen’s, and of course MIGHTY TACO.  Anyone  who’s ever lived in Buffalo will attest to the fact that it is one of any Buffalonian’s staples!  There was a time when you could count on the fact that I would always have Mighty Taco in my freezer.  It was always a quick warm up in the microwave and within minutes I was mentally back in Buffalo while enjoying it.  Sadly, very sadly I now find myself with no Mighty Taco in my freezer.  So, if any of my buddies, good old friends of mine in Buffalo who would really want to help a guy who’s down on his Mighty Luck, you know how to hook a pal up.  I’ll take as many Beef and Cheese burritos, medium sauce and you can mail!

Bon Appétit!

