Last week I felt like our house had inherited the plague! I was down and out with Strep…  Julianna had double ear infection and possible Strep… The list goes on and on…  Long story short, the whole house was riding the “Bench”, out of the game!

So with that being said last weekend with everyone ill we had that weekend I had been dreaming of. Granted it was not exactly the weekend I wanted but I had NEEDED a weekend with nothing. We did spend a ton of time lounging around the house in our jammies and just taking it easy. Plus we ate a lot of food that is really “not the best for you” !  Really, sick people should be having soup, broth and maybe some crackers… In our house we say maybe will try a different approach! On Friday when I stopped at the store for Kleenex , cold medication and a few other necessities including the ingredients needed for this yummy dessert jumped in the cart too!

Each person in our house took part in doing something to help make this delicious project… I did not think to take picture while we were making it, but here is what’s left!

This tasty treat is not so great for you, but we have been telling ourselves it helps cure sickness….  Maybe not, but it really does taste great!!!

Ahhh… Miss Lindsay

Well the month of July was quite transitional for us in terms of Miss Julianna. The gal that was her sitter had to leave with short notice, so we had a little bit of juggling to do…. We needed to string together a few interim sitters to make sure we could keep rolling.  Thanks to Miss Melissa for jumping in, rolling up her sleeves and taking fabulous care of the kids with virtually no notice and then Miss Spenser for bridging the gap… It was several weeks of interviews until we found Miss Lindsay and we are so happy we found her.

Julianna lights up when she comes in to the house and you can tell they just love each other.

But there is something about Miss Lindsay that’s different or better yet special.  When we hired her she was given the task of taking care of Julianna.  What we have found is she takes great care of everyone in the house.  Every single one of us has been positively impacted by having her with us. We are so very blessed to have hired her.

Joey can’t wait until it get cooler so that she can pick him up from school and Jennifer has found a wonderful friend in her. It’s great to see the kids engaged and enjoying her so much.

(So I had taken a few pictures of Lindsay & Julianna… and I am an awful photographer, but these for Julianna were too cute. I could not not share!)

Thirsty Thursdays

Alright I had talked about Thirsty Thursday or maybe Sunday Fun-days and I am getting on to that! Seriously…  Work has been quite busy so I am gearing up for my last trip of the year in a few weeks here. But the work that goes along with it has been keeping me up at night.

Needless to say it will be nice to have a mild break in long hours and be able to make dinner or experiment with a new beverage!

The slimmer trimmer Terian’s…

It seems like I am the only one on board with this idea right now. I am sure at any moment Joe is going to say “alright I will eat that bell pepper!” Ha ha ha… Ok, I know that will never happen, but possibly a tasty salad…

Having two babies in two years has wreaked havoc on my waste line. I am not a small person to begin with and weight has always been an issue I try to stay ahead of. Put two pregnancies back to back and you have me! I keep trying to drop the extra few lbs but honestly, I think the extra pounds have come to love me. They are rather attached!

Going with the healthier mindset… roasted veggies are wonderful. (That’s what I keep telling myself.  Kind of like Dorothy “There’s no dinner like roasted veggies, There’s no dinner like roasted veggies!!)

So Sad…

Jennifer is so sweet; we say that all the time! But this past week her best friend officially moved. I can honestly say she was so hopeful when they kept pushing the move back a week here and a week there. However, Saturday morning her friend’s family loaded up the truck and dropped her off for the last time.

The girls were so wonderful together. Jennifer and Tina together is that rare “no drama” girl’s duo that you just don’t see with girls in Jr. High. To be quite honest we are going to miss Tina just as much if not more!

She was our 6th (including the lovely and talented Sareena Dominguez) child, the one that when we were camping, going out of town or just about anything else she would pack-up her bag and come too!

The positive thing… They are going back to California! A place that we love and try to go to once in awhile ourselves so we will planning on seeing her there! And Tina will be joining us for the PKD Foundation walk on Team Jody!!!

FOOTBALL….

I am not a sports fan, but I am working on it! Tomorrow we have our friends coming to do a draft for Fantasy Football! We are way behind because honestly my head has been stuck in this computer for the last three weeks.

The funny thing about our teams… The names!  At least some of the names from last year.  Some wonderful examples, “The Silver Platters” (ie: Brady Bunch), “Mod Squad”, “Pink Ladies”, “T-birds”, “Ricky Williams Supplier”,  “Assault Rifles”, etc.  I guess I should say one of my favorite parts of playing the FF… Is that sometimes I get to beat Joe! Alright, maybe I should be honest. I don’t think that I beat him once last year, but this year I am not going to pick the same! I am now a salty veteran with one year of experience at selecting my “team”, I’m gonna stay low and move fast! (Or at least that’s what I will be telling myself tomorrow!)

I am such a poor FF player… I have yet to research my “picks”, I am more interested in adult beverage selections!!!

So I am considering making this yummy treat for us ladies….

Happy Hour: Berry Sangria

Ingredients

  • 1/2 cup sugar
  • 1 cup water
  • 1/4 cup crème de cassis
  • 1 1/2 cups mixed berries such as raspberries, blueberries, and blackberries
  • 1 (750-ml) bottle chilled rose wine
  • 2 tsp fresh lemon juice
  • 1 bottle club soda
  • Mint leaves (for garnish)

Instructions

  1. Mix all ingredients (except mint leaves and club soda) and let soak in the fridge for a couple of hours
  2. Right before you serve, add 1/2 cup club soda
  3. Pour over ice, garnish with a mint leaf, and enjoy!

Once I make it I will let you know how it goes and maybe post some pictures!

Peace be with you all!

I will try to update more often…

